TOURO SYNAGOGUE FOUNDATION

REPORT OF THE 2023 NOMINATING COMMITTEE

The nominating committee, composed of Andy Teitz (Chair), Beverly Bavly, John Grosvenor, Larry Sheftel, Rita Slom, Louise Ellen Teitz, and Laura Freedman Pedrick (*ex officio*) is pleased to present the following slate of officers and board of directors.

Andy Teitz, Chair, Nominating Committee August 20, 2023

Proposed Officers:

Laura Freedman Pedrick, Chair Pamela Elman, Frist Vice Chair Andy Teitz, Vice Chair Richard Rudick, Vice Chair Keith Stokes, Vice Chair John Laramee, Secretary William Stern, Treasurer[#] Jay Ross, Assistant Treasurer[#] VACANT, Immediate Past Chair

Class of 2026:

Beverly Bavly Emily Colbert Cairns* Jonathan de Sola Mendes Kimberly Dumpson Michael Feldberg Gretchen Markert Jed Rakoff Shirley Saunders Sam Shamoon Elliott Slom

* New Member # New Position for Existing Member

<u>New Member</u> DR. EMILY COLBERT CAIRNS

Emily Colbert Cairns is an Associate Professor of Spanish at Salve Regina University. She lives in Newport with her husband and two children. She grew up in a reform community in New York and attended Hamilton College and the University of California, Irvine. In her research she explores conversos in the Iberian world and the Sephardic diaspora in addition to practices related to breastfeeding and early modern mamas. Her interest in identity as created by the diaspora comes from her own family's personal stories of the same. Having collaborated with Touro Synagogue Foundation over her tenure in RI, she already serves on the Education Committee, and has been instrumental in bringing dynamic speakers and helping launch the 360 virtual tour.